Author Archives: seoproikram

About seoproikram

I worked some project on SEO to rank 1st position on Google ranking .I work both onsite and offsite concentrating keyword research,on page site building,link building,social bookmarking,online marketing strategy building.SEO friendly article writing is another skilled area of mine.I am willing to work hard and communicate well to deliver excellent client satisfaction and feedback.I can make my time flexible and have faith on my work.I always try to provide good quality in competitive price.

Guidelines For Writing SEO Friendly Content That I Prefer And Why


You will need to make sure that the content is interesting and adds value to the readers, instead of just stopping it short with overused keywords. Keywords should not stop the content flow.

 Content Relevancy

Make sure that you make use of keywords whilst maintaining the relevancy to your content. Search engines employ a number of methodologies so as to be able to detect content that has been created with the sole purpose to obtain good ranking. Not only will such content become unreadable, but chances are that your website gets blacklisted by search engines.

Keyword Placement

Keyword excessive use may cause keyword stuffing, For Better use of keyword placement it should be use in top few sentence and then maintain keyword density using other phrase keyword.Primary keyword should put on first few sentence.

Keyword Density

It is suggested from many seo expert that minimum 2% keyword density is able to let the google know what is your keyword about.I also try to use phrasal keyword with primary keyword.The total number of keyword i prefer to use is 8-10 for a single 500 word article.And in that portion, I put 5 times primary keyword and 3 times phrasal keyword.

Make Short And Crisp Paragraphs

Users hate reading big blocks of paragraphs. Moreover, chunks of text will make your article look boring. Because of this, they might not even read your post or article completely, which would be a real waste of your time and efforts. The contents will become more readable if the paragraph sizes are restricted within 4 to 5 lines.

Use Bullets And Numbering

Most of your readers are likely to have a short attention span, and they might not be interested in reading the entire content of your article. They would instead prefer skimming through bullet points if they are crisp and concise. Therefore, it would be a good idea to use bullets and numbering whenever possible.

Make Subheadings

Subheadings can be very helpful in directing readers to the precise points that they are interested in. Moreover, you could also use the keywords as subheadings, so that the flow of reading does not get interrupted.

Interactive Presentation

To make the article more interactive I always try to use interactive word sexy word (that I call ;not slang).It can hold readers interest and drive them in more interactive approach. Another tips can be    own involvement like sharing own experience and lot more.

Proper Linking

If you have to hyperlink any of your content to some other page, make sure that you explain the relevancy of that page very clearly. If the page you are linking to is not relevant to what you mention in your content, it would surely annoy the readers. You could lose your credibility with those readers, and that is something which is really difficult to regain.

Avoid Repetitions

Some writers think that they need to reiterate or restate the same information in order to drive the point to the readers. Well, readers are smart enough to understand the information when they read it for the first time. Repetitions might irritate them as they might feel like getting back to square-one even after reading half your article. It is always better to continue with information rather than repeating the same things. You could maybe write your opinion on that point instead of restating it.

10. Proofread Your Write-Up

Unless you have very good typing skills, you are bound to make mistakes while writing. Make sure that you proofread your articles or posts very carefully before publishing them. It would be a good idea to proofread twice to eliminate all the errors in your write-ups.


20 Ways to Rank a Website

Page ranking has a direct impact on your popularity. The most popular brands are the ones that are ranked highly by search engines, while the lowest ranked are least popular. Very popular brands are more trusted by customers than less popular brands, and this always has an impact on the profitability of your business. Ranking is determined by various factors, and you can work towards raising the ranking of your page through the following ways:

1. Backlinks. There are several ways that you can acquire backlinks and eventually increase your rank. Commenting on Do Follow blogs is a great way of obtaining backlinks. In order to improve your ranking, comment on competitor sites, and ensure that your comments are keyword rich.

2. Submitting your page URL to high profile directories can also help. All you need to do is target at least 15 directories and create a very catchy DoFollow profile in order to improve your ranking.

3. Guest blogging is also an effective way to improve your ranking, as long as you meet the requirements of the target blog. Ardent bloggers and people who are passionate about writing can benefit from this method.

4. Social media can also help create backlinks to your site and hence boost your ranking. All you need is create an attractive profile, optimize it for targeted traffic and then list your site there. Most social networking profiles are ranked in Google, and this should be your objective.

5. Write quality content. Publishing articles on your blog or website can improve your ranking, as long as you follow the appropriate SEO guidelines. Your articles have to be optimized for Google, and contain no spammy content. Avoid overuse of keywords, and be keen on the distribution of the keywords. Write quality and original content. If you cannot write, hire freelancers or invest in guest blogging.

6. NoFollow attribute. NoFollow is an attribute that you can use in order to improve your ranking. Google ranks pages with this attribute highly, but can also penalize you for misusing it. It is advisable to use it sparingly, and in such a way that cannot raise suspicion by Google.

7. It is also good to use the NoFollow attribute in the comments section of your blog or website. This attribute makes it possible for you to deal with spam and hence improve your page ranking. Google penalizes spammy pages by giving them a lower ranking, and therefore using this method will save your site from spam and win the favor of search engines.

8. Get backlinks from special sites. Wikipedia is among the special sites that can help raise your ranking. It is an authoritative site that attracts high traffic, and therefore getting a single link from Wikipedia can really boost your ranking. Other sites that are considered special are .Edu and .Gov sites. Try to find if you can backlink to these sites.

9. Make yourself popular by increasing your web activity. Your activity on the internet can help boost your ranking. You need to contribute generously towards the niche you have specialized in by writing articles and comments on that field. This makes yourself popular, and helps win the trust of Google while ranking your page.

10. Internal linking can also help boost your ranking, if done correctly. You need to learn how to create quality anchor text and also how the internal linking feature works. Create a keyword rich meta for the page you wish to link with. Work towards generating four internal links.

11. Outbound links. While linking to other sites, make sure you do thorough search. Link only to authoritative sites, which do not have spammy content or features. Linking to trusted sites also makes you trustworthy and vice versa.

12. Loading speed. How does your page load? Fast loading pages have an edge over slow pages in all aspects. You win against competitors, and also win the trust of Google.

13. Domain age is a major factor while ranking pages in Google. If your domain name is registered for several years, you will receive a higher ranking than those websites whose domain names have been registered for fewer years. bear this in mind while purchasing a domain name.

14. When registering your domain name, go for dedicated IP addresses as this will save you from any imminent restriction. Google checks for all activities coming from each IP address, and any spammy activity may lead to the restriction of all domain names registered from such an IP address.

15. Sexually explicit terms are not ranked on page one of Google. Google has a child protection policy, and will never allow children to visit adult sites. Specific terms may lead to a lower ranking, so be careful about what you write.

16. Check what you do on the net. Google personalization can affect your ranking, because Google monitors what you do while you are logged in Gmail. Avoid visiting adult sites while on Gmail as this could be penalized on your page.

17. Use Pay Per Click campaigns. PPC campaigns can help generate leads as well as determine how your page is ranked in Google. Use it wisely.

18. Do not buy links. Buying sponsored links is a waste of money, and it cannot guarantee you of a higher ranking of your page. In fact, Google can penalize you for that unless you do it creatively. If you have to buy links, do so from authoritative sites.

19. Optimize your posts by doing a thorough keyword search. Google has a keyword search tool, and so you can never go wrong with this free tool. Search for the most relevant keywords that can improve your visibility on the internet, and you will have the last laugh. You are only required to specify the category of your business, or enter your page URL and then Google will generate keywords for you depending on priority. There are keywords that have a high priority, medium and low priority. You need primary keywords and secondary keywords so as to use them interchangeably throughout the page or articles.

20. Article syndication. Submit articles to relevant sites so as to increase your visibility. Google will make you more visible if you take time to create your brand a market on the internet. Traffic is an essential factor when it comes to page ranking.

How to analyze top 10 competitor on Google

Understanding how difficult it is to rank in the top 10 of Google for your chosen keyword is probably the most important skill you can acquire when it comes to building niche websites.  Unfortunately, it is also the most difficult skill to learn.  Bar none, picking keywords that are too difficult to rank for are the #1 reason why websites fail.

Most people just do not have the ability to effectively analyze the top 10 results in Google OR do not have the discipline to only go after low competition keywords. Luckily, this skill can be acquired with experience, serious study, and effort.  In my post today, I hope to shed some light on how you can effectively analyze how difficult the top 10 results in Google are for your keyword.


Here are the criteria that I look at to Analyze the Competition:

    1. Relevant Content.As we all know content is king.So main factor that will  clarify your primary possibly.
    2. Optimized Title Competition- Is the keyword used in the title and well optimized?
    3. Page and Site Links. How many links are there to the ranking PAGE and ROOT domain?
    4. Authority Site and Links. Are there .edu, .gov, DMOZ, or Yahoo Directory links?
    5. Google Page Rank. What is the Google PR?
    6. Using Keyword Root Domain or URL? Is the ranking page a root domain or a URL ?
    7. EMD. Are the site is Exact match domain.
    8. Site Age. How old the site is?
    9. Type of site. Is the ranking page a weak type of site like: article directories, forums, Yahoo Answers, other Q&A sites, social sites, or other user generated type sites?
    10. Existing sites.Site which is not ranking well on top 10 yet; i mean ongoing project to spy.

Here is one of my sample example of analyze top 10 competitor on Google

my competitor analysis sample

my competitor analysis sample

You could certainly go alot deeper and start looking at things like whether or not the ranking pages have links pointing to them that use the keyword in the anchor text, etc – but that gets pretty cumbersome.  And because I like to find ranking pages that have fewer than 10 links or even NO BACKLINKS many times, I don’t worry too much about the anchor text.  This is because I go for very low competition keywords.  If you are looking at more difficult niches, you may need to do more analysis than I discuss here; but most people will do just fine finding low competition keywords using the criteria I have listed above and will discuss further below.

 Importance of Relevant Keyword

You will notice that the first 3 ranking factors that I mentioned deal with relevant content on the ranking sites.  I stress the importance of determining whether or not a ranking site is actually targeting your keyword or whether they just happen to mention the keyword in passing.  The reason is simple, if a site is ranking for a keyword almost by accident (because they simply mention a keyword in their content) – then you can feel confident that you can outrank them with more targeted content and links.

Importance of Back Link

The next 3 items I discuss for analyzing the top 10 competitors in Google is links.  I look for less than 10 links to the page if possible (I look at the Yahoo Page Links).  Links to the page are MUCH more important than links to the root domain.  Each page of a site ranks individually, so the page links give you a better indication of how strong the ranking page is.

If the competitors in Google have relevant Titles/content and have lots of links to their pages then you shouldn’t be targeting the keyword.  You can determine on your own how many links is too many for you, but I like to find results with 10 or less links to the page.  Again, I don’t stress out about how many links are to the root domain, unless the resulting page happens to be the root domain.  In that case, a root domain that is optimized for your keyword and has lots of links built to it – is exactly what you want to avoid!  You will typically want to stay away from these keywords.

Most of the time you don’t need to worry about .edu, .gov, or DMOZ, or Yahoo Directory links.  I will typically look at these just to make sure the ranking page doesn’t have any.  Most of the time these type of links only become a factor when you are targeting higher competition keywords or looking at beating root domains.  So, if you see ranking pages that do indeed target your keyword with relevant titles and content, and they have lots of .edu or these other authority type links, you should probably just move onto something less competitive.

Google Page Rank

I won’t go into great detail about what Google PageRank (PR) is other than to say its a number assigned by Google from 0 to 10 that shows how much authority a page has.  Pages or sites can also sometimes have a dash (-) which simply means there is no page rank assigned (this is a good sign for you!).  I like to see ranking sites with a PageRank of 0 or – if they are targeting my keyword.

However, if they are not really targeting my keyword well (like in my “spencer likes honeycombs” example), then the PageRank really doesn’t matter.  So, don’t get too hung up with PageRank – unless its obvious that the ranking page REALLY is targeting your keyword.  If so, remember that lower pagerank is better for you.  You can certainly still outrank sites with a Pagerank of 3 or 4, but for the low hanging fruit you should really focus on the PR of 0 sites.

Other Important Factor

Root Domain or Subpage?

If the top 10 competitors of a keyword are all root domains, I would probably avoid this.  This usually means that their entire site is targeted and optimized for your chosen keyword.  However, if all the ranking pages are something like: – this is what you want to see.  The long URL is a good sign for you when looking at the top 10 competitors.

Site Age

Older sites tend to have more authority.  I usually only worry about site age if I am targeting a more difficult keyword and need to do some more in depth analysis of the difficulty of ranking for a keyword.

Type of Site

As mentioned in my original list above, I like to see certain weak types of sites like article directories, forums, Yahoo Answers, other Q&A sites, social sites, or other user generated type sites.  The reason for this is that these types of sites are usually not very good at targeting a specific keyword.  Article directories might mention the keyword in their title, but they usually don’t have any backlinks to the ranking page.  Some of these other types of sites usually just happen to mention the keyword somewhere in the content, but don’t have an optimized page or any relevant links.  Hope that makes sense why these are types of listing you WANT to see in the top 10 (easy to outrank).

How to Calculate Profit and Traffic for Niche Website

These are calculations that will work with both small niche websites or larger authority type websites . I will give an example of a small niche website keyword, and then I will walk through the calculations of my new authority site.  Overall, I will be calculating the earnings based on Google Adsense; however, with some minor adjustments you should be able to calculate your earnings for any type of monetization strategy; including Amazon, Clickbank, CPA offers, or other methods.  The first thing you need to do is find a keyword that you are considering building a website based on.

Example Keyword and the Formula

Anyway, the primary information you need before you can start calculating is the Exact Match, Local volume Monthly searches and the Cost Per Click.  So, for my example, lets use the keyword “Water Pumps”.  This keyword gets 6,600 Local Exact match searches and has a CPC of $1.61.

I have gone over how to calculate earnings in detail in this post: Search Volume and CPC Criteria of a Winning Keyword.  But I wanted to discuss some deeper nuances that I skipped over in that post.  The formula that I used in my previous post to calculate how much earnings you will receive is simply this:

Earnings = Estimated Search Volume x Adsense CTR x Adsense CPC

However, the formula is actually more complicated than that because we need to first calculate the actual search volume coming to our website.  Then to calculate for our entire website, we need to figure out additional search volume received from other planned keywords AND unexpected long tail keywords.  We also need to jump through some hoops to figure out the Adsense CTR and the Adsense CPC.

So, the REAL formula to use is my updated formula shown here:

Estimated Earnings = (Keyword Search Volume x Google Position Factor) x  Visitor CTR x (Adwords Tool CPC x 30%) x Multiplier for Long Tail Keywords

How to Calculate Estimated Search Volume

The initial problem is that we don’t know exactly how much traffic to expect for our keyword.  We know that “Water Pumps” gets 6,600 searches each month, but we obviously can’t expect to get every last visitor for that keyword.  So, how much can we expect?  Again, I have covered this before, but here is a graph that shows a general breakdown of how much traffic the top 10 sites in Google based on positition can expect.  This is data provided by Aaron Wall at from some AOL leaked data) to determine search volume:

So, if you are ranked #1 in Google you can expect to get approximately 42.13%.  In addition, I don’t really agree with the other positions.  This data is just based on the first website that a visitor clicks on.  So, yes, maybe only 11.90% of searchers click on result #2 for their very first click, but you and I both know that when we search for a keyword, we often click 2, 3, or even more of the results!  So, the actual % of people going to the lower ranked sites is actually MUCH greater.  In fact, I have not noticed a huge difference in traffic between being ranked 1, 2, or 3 for a keyword.  Obviously this can really depend on a number of factors.  I have seen this time and again with my niche websites – I get essentially the same amount of traffic being ranked in any of the top 3 positions.  I also see about the same for positions 4, 5, and 6 – lets say 20%.  Then for the bottom 7, 8, 9 and 10 its probably closer to 5 to 10% of the monthly search volume of the keyword.

So, if we rank #1, #2, or #3 for “Water Pumps”, we can expect about 2,781 visitors per month (42.13% x 6600) for that keyword.  If you think you can only rank at the bottom of the 1st page, you should only expect about 330 to 660 visitors per month.

 How to Calculate Adsense CTR

The Adsense CTR needs some explaining.  The CTR shown in your Adsense account is actually based on the number of Pageviews NOT visitors.  We have just calculated how many visitors we are expecting to our website – which is a completely different number from pageviews.  Honestly, there is no way to know the exact click through rate until the site is up, but I usually just use 10% of VISITORS.

So, if each visitor looks at 2 pages on our site, the actual CTR shown in our Adsense account would be 5% – make sense?  If each visitor looks at 3 pages, then if 10% of visitors clicked on an adsense ad, this would make our Adsense CTR 3.33%.  Hope that makes sense.  So, for ease of use, I just calculate that 5 to 10% of visitors will click an ad.  Obviously your CTR could be significantly lower or higher than you calculate here – this is just a rough estimate.

So continuing on with our “Water Pumps” example, if we rank #1 we are expecting 2,781 visitors for that keyword.  We are then estimating that 10% of those visitors will click an Adsense ad – or 278 clicks per month.  Sweet we are getting close here!  Now we just need to figure out how much we are getting paid per click.

How to Calculate the Adsense CPC

The Google Adwords Keyword Tool shows the CPC based on how much advertisers are willing to pay to be listed on  Advertisers will pay less to be listed on your website.  I usually use a factor of around 30%.  So, for our keyword, “Water Pumps” with a CPC of $1.61; I would estimate closer to getting paid $0.48 per click.  Also, this number could fluctuate heavily as advertisers stop bidding on this keyword, new advertisers enter the market, or they change their bids for other reasons.

You can also check out Google’s new Contextual Targeting Tool to get an idea of CPC bids on the content network.  The tool is in beta and I don’t find it very reliable at this point.  I have punched in several keywords from my own websites and this tool was still overstating the CPC by quite a bit on most of them.  I just now punched in a couple of keywords that only pay me about $0.20 to $0.30 per click – and the contextual targeting is still listing the CPC of about $1.20 or so.  I don’t use the contextual targeting tool and don’t really put any weight into it, but I just wanted to point it out – who knows – it could get more accurate down the road.

So, after my long winded explanations, we can finally calculate the estimated earnings for the keyword “Water Pumps”.  We figured that we could expect around 278 clicks per month with an actual payout of about $0.48 per click – that gives us: $133.44.  So, if we rank in the top 3 spots of Google, we can expect to make around $133.44 for this keyword.

Calculating for Long Tail Keywords

You also have to realize that you are likely to get more traffic for a niche website than from just your primary keyword.  You will get long tail keywords traffic!  For a small niche website this might only be 10 or 20% additional traffic to your site although it could be much more. Some of my niche sites get up to 50% of their traffic from long tail keywords.  Some get much less – so unfortunately, none of this is an exact science! However, for a larger authority website, you should be able to expect MUCH more traffic based on those long tail keywords.

So, if we expect to get 20% more traffic from other keywords in our “Water Pumps” example, then we would take $133.44 x 1.20; which is $160.13.  So, if we get 20% additional traffic from long tail keywords, we can expect our niche website on “Water Pumps” to make about $160.13 per month!  This calculation takes a long time to explain, but in practice takes less than 30 seconds to figure out for each keyword!

If we were adding lots of articles we could obviously double or triple the earnings that the “water pumps” niche website is bringing in.

Video Explanation of this Formula

When I got to this point in my blog post, I started thinking about how confusing this might be for some people.  So, I decided to make a quick video of me walking through the “Water Pumps” example.  This is simply meant to help clarify what I am trying to say.  Hopefully it helps!



My Calculations for My Authority Site

Now that you understand (hopefully :) ) my thinking behind how to project earnings for a site.  So again, I will be using this formula.  But this time I will essentially be doing it twice – once for my primary keyword, and once for my long tail keywords.  I will do it twice simply because I plan to have a massive amount of content so it makes sense to calculate the long tail keywords separately.

Estimated Earnings = (Keyword Search Volume x Google Position Factor) x  Visitor CTR x (Adwords Tool CPC x 30%) x Multiplier for Long Tail Keywords

First, my primary keyword gets approximately 14,800 searches per month.  It has a CPC of $8.04.  I am hoping to rank in the top 3 of course, but lets just calculate the projections based on getting to the middle of the page – or a Google Position factor of 20% as discussed above for middle of the front page search results.

So, now I am going to quickly use the above formula.

14,800 x 20% = 2960

Visitor CTR estimated at 10% – So, 2960 visitors x 10% CTR = 296 clicks per month

The CPC is $8.04 – So, 8.04 x 30% = $2.41 . I usually cap my expected per click earnings at $1.  Yes, you can earn more, but it would be extremely rare to average $2.41 per click.  So, I will implement my cap of an expected CPC at $1 to stay on the conservative side.

So, that gives me a projected earnings of $296 per month just for that keyword.

However, the long tail keywords will bring in MUCH more traffic.  I expect to create 200 pages of content all targeting a new keyword that gets between 200 to 500 searches per month.  So, lets take an average search volume of 350 searches per month on those long tails.

So, 350 x 200 articles = 70,000.  If I rank the middle of the road, that’s 20% of that, or 14,000 visitors.  However, I also expect ADDITIONAL long tail traffic on keywords that I wasn’t targeting.  In fact, I expect to receive just as much traffic from these untargeted keywords as I do from my targeted keywords.  So, that would be 28,000 visitors per month if I double the traffic.

So, 28,000 x 10% CTR = 2,800 clicks.  At $1 average per click, that’s $2,800 earnings per month from long tail traffic.  So, $296 from my primary keyword and $2,800 from long tail traffic is $3,096 estimated earnings per month.  And honestly I think this is a VERY low estimate.  If I didn’t cap my earnings at $1 per click and instead used the $2.41 per click – I am looking at a $6,192 per month website.  And obviously it could fluctuate largely up or down based on traffic and ranking position.  If I was ranking at the top of Google, we could double the traffic estimate to 43% – which would give me a number over $12,000 per month.

Anyway, I think its better to stay on the conservative side and estimate the site has good potential to earn about $3,000 per month.  I know it has potential to do more than that, but this lower $3k is a good estimate of what I should be looking for.

As you can see, this is not an exact science – not even close.  There are just too many unknowns to be able to reliably predict how much a website is going to make you before you even built it.  However, these calculations CAN give you a ballpark figure, and I think that’s important.  You need to know if you are looking at earning a potential $30 a month or a potential $3,000 per month.

So, I hope that my formula and calculation examples made sense!  I was somehow able to ramble on for over 2,000 words here – all just to show a relatively simple calculation.

To Do List for Building Niche Websites

Niche Websites vs. General Websites

In general a niche website is much easier to rank for a keyword than a general website with no focus is to rank.  The searcher also is usually more satisfied because they get lots of articles that discuss their query in detail rather than just one article that they get with article directories.  This is another reason why niche sites are so powerful.

  • Find a keyword that receives at least 1,000 exact match searches.  Remember this is MINIMUM – its BETTER to target a keyword that gets 20k or more as long as the competition is still low.  If you can find a keyword that gets 100k Exact match searches per month and still has very low competition then GO FOR IT!  However, the reality is that you will find many more keywords with low competition in the lower search volume range.  You won’t make very much money on a keyword that only get 1,000 searches every month – so keep that in mind.
  • Find a keyword that has an average CPC of $1 or more. This is generally the rule if you plan on monetizing your site with Google Adsense.  If you are using other methods, the CPC might not be as relevant.  You need to find out how you are going to make money with your site and make sure your chosen keywords will allow you to meet those goals.
  • Check the competition by looking at the top 10 results in Google. I will cover how to judge the competition in detail in a future post, but here are a few things you need to look at in the results.  Is the keyword in the Title of the Pages?  Are the results mainly root domains or subpages?  Look for low Pageranks, zero links to the results pages if possible (not the root domain), site age, .edu and .gov links, and a few other items can be looked at as well.
  • Buy an Exact Match Domain if possible.
  • Install WordPress. I use WordPress on all my sites – however, using regular html or other site builders is just fine too.
  • Install plugins – I will give a detailed list and discussion of plugins in the future.
  • Add content to your site. I like to start with between 5 and 10 articles.  When the site starts to make money or shows promise of growth, I will add more content.  If the site is a dud, I don’t add more content.  Usually only 1 article should have your main keyword in the title.  The other articles will be on related terms – don’t overuse your keyword on your site.  A 1 to 2% keyword density is sufficient on your 1 main article.  I might not even use the keyword in the other articles on my site.
  • Insert adsense or other monetization methods. I do this right away.
  • Build links. I usually wait a week or two before I build any links to my site.  Then I will do a combination of article marketing and other link building.  Most of my niche sites have less than 100 links showing in Yahoo site explorer.  So, don’t go overboard.  Start with 50 to 100 links and then wait a few weeks.  Build more if needed.  Use your chosen keyword as anchor text for added relevance.
  • Add More Content if needed. If your website is ranking well and you are making good money, add more articles.
  • Optimize your site for CTR and overall earnings

My Overall Strategy

My personal strategy is to enter a market where I feel like I can rank in the top 10 of Google (top 5 preferred) very quickly (within a couple of months).  Therefore, I tend to target keywords that typically get lower search volume but also have very low competition.  Keywords that receive small amounts of searches each month are called “Long Tail Keywords”.

However, the long tail keywords will bring in MUCH more traffic.  I expect to create 200 pages of content all targeting a new keyword that gets between 200 to 500 searches per month.  So, lets take an average search volume of 350 searches per month on those long tails.

My Keyword Research Strategy

In my whole seo  experience i have applied several keyword research method and learned best practice which i will describe through this post so that u can get the idea of my work process.I also described  the overview of keyword research method and my own thought.

So What is  Keyword Research and Why

I am sure all of know better from me.In Briefly i have to say,finding the most profitable  and most importantly low competitive  niche from millions of  seed keyword that suits your business.

In my point of view the main objective of keyword research is mainly three.I will be elaborating main purpose and process through out the post.

  • Target market and Traffic
  • Profit Calculation
  •  Competition Analysis

Long tail keywords for your Niche

Long tail keywords are the longer, more specific keywords that are less common and tends to get traffic that make high conversion.Moreover long tail also less competitive and actual customer driven.For your niche its important to figure out most profitable keyword and that’s where my expertise lies.

Target market and Traffic

You cant target the whole big term like -“android” because its not specific and very broad term.Or you cant also select ‘android apps for alien’ that’s not making sense at all.What i am trying to say is we should select target market which contains following ability.

  1. Your target market should want and need your product or service today and tomorrow
  2. Your target market must have the ability to provide money for you
  3. Your target market should be achievable ,easy accessible and low competitive
  4. Your target market should achievable by a time.frame
  5. Your target market should meet your profit criteria.

Profit Calculation

This part is really valuable part when we are talking about  any investment or seo activity; whether my risky initiative can give me smart amount of gain.Fortunately,I have learned and successfully applied a calculation for profit assumption.This goes below;

Situation One:For instance you are planing for some niche site that is mainly for adsense.Some info You might know;

  • Top 1st position will get 62% CTR, 
  • Average CTR for adsense may nim 7- 10 %  even more Appr.
  • Google pays average 60% of CPC

Strategy One:Estimating Keyword Income

To find do the math following

1) Multiply the Estimated Avg CPC by .60– We are presuming Google pays average 60% of CPC

2) Then multiply this amount by the monthly search volume (exact)

3) Multiply the amount by .62 (Top 1st position will get 62% CTR, )

4) Finally we multiply the running figure by .07 (Average CTR for adsense may nim 7- 10 %  even )

Strategy two:Find Search Volume (SV) That meets Profit criteria 

Here we have to know also previous data and then do following.

First,Search Volume x CTR=SV x 62%

Secondly,SV x62% multiply CTR of visitor =Google paying CPC

SV x62%x7%=60

Now SV=? (find it by calculating and you will find how many SV you will need)

Situation Two: If you are using actual products or affiliate network this principle is fundamental to figure out the basic info.I guess this can be workout for you also.

Brainstorm for keyword

Suppose you have selected your target market and its time to move on for picking keyword.Wait one sec I guess most of the entrepreneur makes mistake by jumping away from brainstorm.

If you own a business for selling products or providing service than thinks it as consumer,What people will use as search on Google.Here is some idea to gather keyword suggestion and brainstorm.

  1. I Use my sense.Look around myself,shopping list,magazine,or blog about my niche
  2. Search it to Google  and follow related result.Use related search or * parameter.
  3. is another great tools that i found useful for gathering random keyword suggestion..
  4. Modifying keyword with different types of keyword action word and other category.Like-‘ buy android apps for alien’ or  ‘summer android apps for alien’ (seasonal) and many others.
  5. I sometimes use Google trend and instant. gives me idea whats going on around hot.
  6. and  also gives thousand of seed keyword idea and people are actually buying.You can use it for your target market also.
  7. I am big fan of it personally.It will provide most of required info and valuable keyword information by filtering.
  8.  also gives some useful sugestion according to your search

Now you need to save all keyword suggestion on word document and save it for  further use.

Filtering Keyword 

After collecting all the suggested keyword its time filter them.Drooping weak one putting potential one is main purpose of filtering.You have to consider these things for filtering keyword.

  1. Satisfactory number of searcher,It depends upon business size and capability.Very low serch volume must have to avoid because it will not be profitable.
  2. For niche site 2000 exact match is minimum value many internet marketing professional  recommended.I described all about niche site strategy on another post.
  3. High competitive keyword should be avoided because it will difficult  for ranking.

For doing i usally use because its easy to use.Now copy these keyword suggestion and paste some to keyword tools box.Now for filtering some step have to take that is following.

  1. Select the exact instead of broad.It will let you know exact monthly search volume.
  2. Suppose you want to avoid low search global under 2000 ,local 1500 ,approximate cpc under $1 and you want high competitive keyword and local region at US.Then
  3. Go to advance option and filter and and set all them.Here is the screen shot of it.Now all set up and press search button to go.
  4. Google adward on use

    screen shot of adword

  5. Finally You will get all the keyword that meets your requirement and all are profitable, demanding as well.You can sort column.
  6. Now mark them all and save as CSV file.You can delete or add column  before download.Now need to move next step.

 Competition Analysis

As a seo professional ,I hardly believe that most of the small and medium business fail for this.I wrote a complete guide line and my strategy about competitior anlaysis over here.

Why competitor analysis is important

Some important issue for doing competitor analysis.

  1. Letting you know competitors strength and weakness.
  2. Is is possible to demote them and grab the 1st ranking
  3. How much time it will take
  4. Spy on them and their activity.
  5. How much effort  it will take to compete with them.

Factors of competitor analysis

I figured out some vital issue here and described lot more about this here. Understanding how difficult it is to rank in the top 10 of Google for your chosen keyword is probably the most important skill for keyword analysis. Luckily, this skill I acquired with my experience, serious study, and effort.For some reason, people still type their keyword into Google and look at the number of competing pages to judge how difficult a keyword is to rank for.  This is ridiculous!I gave one example of my work so that you can understand how analyze competitor.

my competitor analysis sample

my competitor analysis sample

  1. Relevant Content.As we all know content is king.So main factor that will  clarify your primary possibly.
  2. Optimized Title Competition- Is the keyword used in the title and well optimized?
  3. Page and Site Links. How many links are there to the ranking PAGE and ROOT domain?
  4. Authority Site and Links. Are there .edu, .gov, DMOZ, or Yahoo Directory links?
  5. Google Page Rank. What is the Google PR?
  6. Using Keyword Root Domain or URL? Is the ranking page a root domain or a URL ?
  7. EMD. Are the site is Exact match domain.
  8. Site Age. How old the site is?
  9. Type of site. Is the ranking page a weak type of site like: article directories, forums, Yahoo Answers, other Q&A sites, social sites, or other user generated type sites?
  10. Existing sites.Site which is not ranking well on top 10 yet; i mean ongoing project to spy.

Blog Commenting Guideline

Nowadays spammy link builder polluted blog commenting art  and harmed link builders reputation.However, if done properly, blog commenting can be a perfectly consider as form of marketing capable of getting you some serious traffic.What I’m talking about here is using blog commenting to build relationships and authority in your industry, and how those two things will ultimately lead to organic links and new traffic.

Finding the Right Blogs

When you’re searching for places to comment, you’re looking for blogs in your industry. And not just any blogs, but ones that receive some good traffic and engagement. They don’t have to be the top blogs, mind you, but you want them to have some significant amount of active commenters already.

One great place to start is to PostRank. Look up your topic of interest, say SEO, and you’ll find a list of some of the top blogs on that topic based on the amount of social shares and comments those blogs receive.

Another, for the Internet marketing industry at least, is Sphinn. Posts on their homepage are generally from blogs that have great content and therefore a good bit of discussion happening.

Once you’ve found a few great blogs to start with, then continue to branch out by following links from commenters to their blog. This will help you grow your base of sites to comment upon.

Also, on sites with many different authors, such as this one, check out the author bio to see if the writer’s have their own blogs and join their community as well, assuming those are also in your industry.

Use Your Real Name

Usernames, like “Real Estate Wizard” or “Marketing Magician” may seem cute to you, but to most everyone reading the comments, they make you seem, at best, unauthentic and, at worst, a shyster. It’s always better to use your real name, so you seem like a real person.  Just be straightforward and honest about who you are.  It takes your interactions to a more personal level.  Notice how mine simply states my name and what I am.

Use Your Real Picture

You can reinforce the idea you’re a real person and not a spambot by including a genuine photo of yourself beside your name. To really make a connection with readers, try to use an up close picture where viewers can see your face. Being able to see your eyes, smile, etc. makes it easier for people to remember you and feel like they know you.

Also, use the same avatar everywhere you go (Twitter, Facebook, Disqus, etc.), so people begin to recognize your face.

Target Blogs in Your Niche

This may be a no-brainer, but there’s not much point networking with those who aren’t involved or interested in your industry. For any chance of increasing conversions, you have to build awareness of yourself and your brand among relevant bloggers and their readers.  There is an abundance of blogs about my industry (inbound marketing and social media marketing), but finding relevant blogs in a smaller niche market may require a little bit more research.

Only Comment if You Have Something Valuable to Add to the Discussion

This factor is huge! Kind of like the line you might have heard while growing up about how if you don’t have something nice to say, don’t say anything at all.

Well in this case, if you don’t have something useful to contribute to the comments, don’t try to comment. You will want to leave a comment that others can learn from and that the blog owner will be impressed by.

Try to be First

Don’t do it in the annoying forum way by just commenting “first” or similarly, “great post.” You want to be first, but only after you’ve read the article and know you have something great to say about it.

Just like the click-through rate on Google’s first organic result is much higher than the following results, the likelihood of other commenters clicking your link if you’re first is much higher than if you’re getting to the party after 50 other people have arrived and left their mark. But even that is dependent upon the next step.

Become a Regular

Again, this goes against the link building grain of getting lots of links from lots of different domains. But we’re not here to build links by spam commenting, right? Good, then that shouldn’t matter.

You will want to become a regular face around the community. Which reminds me, if you don’t have a Gravatar yet, then please do so. Or if the blog uses Disqus, sign up for a commenter account with them and get your profile photo up. Whatever commenting system the blog uses, make sure, if possible, it will have your photo associated with your comment.

Keep it Brief

Most folks aren’t going to take the time to read long comments and generally skip over anything longer than a paragraph. The lack of headings, pictures, etc. simply makes it too tedious. Try to summarize your points in a few sentences, and if you have more that you just have to say, write about the topic on your own blog.

Think of it as Building a Reputation

The best way to approach comment marketing is by thinking of it as a chance to build your reputation — not as an opportunity for backlinks. Yes, everyone wants links and traffic, but those things will come if people become interested in YOU.

Use comments as a way to network, form relationships, learn from others, build awareness, and to participate in industry discussions. If the audience likes what you’re saying and sees your face enough, they will become curious and will click your name to learn more about you. With enough exposure and valuable postings, readers will feel like they know you and will trust your comments when they come across them.